Yesterday I bought all sorts of raw bars, cereal bars, protein bars, nuts and grains munchies and protein shakes. A lot of women have recommended I should start a high protein diet about a week before the big op. So I have started today as my op is 6 days away now. I aim to drink 2x500ml shakes per day. I also went to the pharmacy and got a very gentle laxative which doesn’t have the dreaded Bisacodyl – Dulcolax brand. The bisacodyl works faster of course but the way it works is by stimulating the intestine movement whereas the one I got, based on a substance called Macrogol which is supposed to just help by softening the stools and it works slower. The idea is for the stuff to move and keep moving after the op to make life easier. I imagine that going to toilet with a cut from one hip to the other isn’t a great experience to begin with.

protein_shake_recipes2.jpg

Now the pooping lesson over, I also got Lucozade, a glucose drink from the UK that I love because the girls on the diep group said a glucose drink would helps a lot while on the protein diet. We shall see how all this goes. Also stopped coffee and tea, chocolate and anything with caffeine or fizzy. 143.jpg

On the more medical side – and of course the admin and paper work part – I still haven’t received my blood tests results so I must call the nurse see if she can trace them.

Did I mention no more coffee? (goes to curl up in a corner and cry)

Leave a comment